top of page

Let's start this with an author interview! Martin Wells -- Poet, Novelist, Funny Man, Musician,


Interview: ME:Tell us a little about yourself...where did you grow up...family life...where are you now...where do you see yourself (physically) in the future?

MARTIN: Grew up in England, Germany, Scotland, more England, and more Germany. Son of a soldier, been a soldier (well I wore the uniform at least), married four times (you don't keep a car for life, do you?), Live in Belgium and for your American readers, yes that's very close to Brussels. As I have a 14 year old daughter here I expect I shall die here or, at the very least, be institutionalised here. Teenagers drive me crazy. ME: I think that we could make those arrangements for you right now, Martin. If you could live anywhere in the world, where would that be?

MARTIN: Exactly where I am now.

ME:Not me. I'd choose on the edge of a cliff overlooking the ocean, maybe in Scotland.

What do you like to do in your spare time, if you have any?

MARTIN:Play guitar and sing. Write when the mood takes me.

ME: You're a funny man, Mr. Wells. But, I think you already knew that.

What inspired you to become a writer?

MARTIN: Boredom

ME: So boredom sets in for a while and you get a book written, then something changes and you are no longer bored, then what, do you pick up a good book to read?

What is your favorite genre to read?

MARTIN:Crime, thrillers and adventure or anything that doesn't involve a lot of slushy romance.

ME: I know how you hate the slushy stuff!

So, who is your favorite author, then?

MARTIN:I don't have one favourite author.

ME: If you could have only one book, which book would it be?

MARTIN:Monte Walsh by Jack Schaefer.

ME: So, I would think that Jack Schaefer might be amongst your 'most well liked.'

What do you dislike the most about writing?

MARTIN:Writing.

ME: That's the kicker, isn't it?

What do you like most about writing?

MARTIN:Finishing.

ME: Yes, I think that most of the authors in this group would agree with you.

Is there any aspect of humanity and the world today that really gets you angry?

MARTIN:Mans inhumanity to man and Jehovas Witnesses knocking on my door. I don't knock on theirs.

ME: Thank goodness for that!What quality do you admire most in a person, and least in a person?

MARTIN:Laughing at my jokes when they've heard them before. Not laughing at my jokes when they've heard them before.

ME: I always laugh at your jokes, even if you have to remind me to do it.If you could write any type of book (at any length) that would be a best seller, and it only took you one day, what type of book would that be?

MARTIN:A book on bloody miracles if I could write it in one day.

ME:

Quick answers to quick questions:

Favorite food? Chili con roadkill.

Favorite movie?..........One Flew over the Cuckoo's Nest.

Favorite fictional character?..........Monte Walsh

Most memorable moment in your life?..........Staring at 4 tons of burgundy coloured luggage in Brussels airport 1/May/2013

[Seriously? Awe, now you're getting slushy!]

Most regrettable moment of your life?..........Having to get said luggage back to my place.

Most embarrassing Moment of your life?..........Never been embarassed in my life.

[I believe it.]

What person, either alive or dead, would you most like to meet?..........J.K.Rowling. What would you wish to do with that person?..........Ask her for a loan. Do you believe in fate?..........No. I believe in nature, coincidence and trying to be in the right place at the right time. You can't do the gig if you're a month early. Those are all the questions for now Martin. Thank you for taking part in our spotlight! I'm so happy that we can get to know you a little better. It has been a pleasure and I hope we can do this again soon.

Facebook link: https://www.facebook.com/martin.wells.author Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/Martin-Wells/e/B00N6VD5TI/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1424448418&sr=1-2-ent “Century of Sentiment” http://www.amazon.com/Century-Sentiment-100-years-Conflict/dp/1502741180/ref=asap_bc?ie=UTF8 “Chicago Wedding” http://www.amazon.com/Chicago-Wedding-Martin-Wells/dp/1502488728/ref=asap_bc?ie=UTF8 “A Bouquet of Memories” http://www.amazon.com/Bouquet-Memories-Martin-Wells-ebook/dp/B00N02YO5W/ref=asap_bc?ie=UTF8


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page